Saturday, April 18, 2009

School Counselor's Warning...

If you've been a student in either elementary or high school within the last, oh say twenty years, then you've most likely had "the talk". No, not the sex education talk, but the talk school counselors give to the student body regarding drugs and alcohol, and the effects they have on you physically and mentally.

I'm going to come right out and say it. I think these "talks" are stupid and pointless, and actually have a reverse effect on kids. At this point in time i'm sure many of you are saying "well of course Dan's against these talks, he's a long-haired pot-smoking hippie". Well, I have news for you. That's the furthest reason from why I oppose this typical school information practice.

I think that if these talks are to be continued, then they must be drastically altered. Let me explain why I oppose these information sessions.

When I was in 6th grade, our school's guidance counselor came into the classroom to give a slide-show presentation on the teacher's projector. The presentation was discussing the topic of drugs and alcohol. I remember this occasion well because I was very pissed off at the fact that I was missing the recess kick-ball game. Throughout the course of the presentation, our counselor told us how bad drugs and alcohol were for your mental and physical state of health. She told us how that if you smoke pot, you can become addicted, and if you sniff cocaine, you'll become a junkie with no life, and if you shoot up heroin, you'll blow all of your money on drugs and never go anywhere in your life, and if you drink alcohol your liver is going to instantly die, and your eyes will pop out, and you'll loose your teeth, and your family will disown you, and you will go and rob a bank and murder people and steal cars and live on the streets and go to prison and out run cops and Satan will ascend from hell and consume you!!!! Well obviously she didn't really say that, but you get the point. That was the message we all got from her, and we were all scared shitless. But that means it worked right? That's what the conselour wanted, to scare us half-to-death so that we would never think about touching that joint, or drinking that beer. Wrong.

Now I don't care how many drug and alcohol talks counselors give, there is always going to be curiosity. Always. Now, a lot of people are strong enough to resist those urges, but on the same note, a lot of people aren't. And those are the people that try that one joint. And THIS is where the problem is. Once Billy smokes pot for the first time, he prepares for the worst. He's scared, expecting at any moment to grap his father's old colt .45 our from under his dresser, and shoot his family. Then he'll probably go out and rob and bank and become an outlaw. The next day, Billy realizes "hey, i'm alright. I didn't kill anybody, and didn't hurt anything. Sure, I'm another 5 brain cells short of what I had yesterday, but it's all good. Wait a minute... I'm ok! That guidance conselour was full of shit!". And so begins the problem. Billy figures, hey, if the conselour was lying about pot and beer, then I'm sure she's lying about meth and herion! Let's give them a try! And Billy becomes a meth adict, who spends all of his money to get his fix. He goes nowhere in his life, and dies alone and in a back alley.

Now obviously, not every meth adict dies alone in a back alley with the rats... I mean look at George W. Bush.. oh shit did I just say that? Haha oh well. ANYWAY... I think drugs need to be put into persective for kids. Ultimatly, they're going to do what they're going to do. Why lie to them? Don't you see it's just increasing their chances of becoming losers? I saw an anti-drug commercial a year or so ago, and I swear it was the most honest drug commercial I've ever seen. The whole commercial is just a picutre of an empty couch. A very blank and gray picture. There is a kid that sounds about 15, 16, 17... narrating. I don't remeber exactly how it went, but it was something like this: "Last week, I went over to chuck's house. Me and chuck and nick and bill all decided to hang out in chuck's basement. Nick had some weed, and so we all smoked some of it and got high. And then, we sat on chuck's couch. We didn't go out and kill someone. We didn't go steal a car. We didn't go out and rob a bank. We sat on chuck's couch doing absolutley nothing for 11 hours. 11 hours....". This is more like the message we should be giving to kids, instead of this twisted view that drugs are some evil army from hell that will come and consume you under the command of Karl Rove... damnit gotta stop doing that. ANYWAY, you get my meaning. Kid's think, "hey, if they were lying about beer, who's to say they're not lying about herion?". This system must be fixed if it is to continue.

For your consideration.....

Friday, April 17, 2009

First Post

Well, it's 12:43am here on the east coast.... and yet I'm still awake. I generally stay up late, you see, I am a night person. Sometimes I won't even go to bed until 4am in the morning. Crazy right? Well I enjoy it... and it's not as if I'm parting or something like that, I just sit around, eat, watch TV, play video games, and as of now, blog. I have work in the morning.... I work at a KFC/Taco Bell in the nearby city of Norwich, New York. I enjoy my job, and I think I do it well. Fast food is very fast passed (hence the name :-D), and hard to keep up with. But there are always about a billion different things to be done. So once you're sick and tired of something and you grow bored of doing it, move on to another job. By the time you've done everything else that there is to be done, you're back where you started. By this time, your passion to complete that specific task has been re-kindled... and, well, there you go. Never bored! I need to get up in 7 hours... I should go to bed. Good night all.

For your consideration......